Twenty-Two Officers Graduate from Sergeant’s Course

Twenty-Two Officers Graduate from Sergeant’s Course

Law enforcement officers from agencies across the commonwealth were recognized today for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Academy of Police Supervision.

APS, also called the sergeant’s academy, is a three-week, 122-hour training program targeted for newly promoted sergeants or officers who are on their agency’s promotion list to become sergeants.

While in APS, students participate in classes focusing on the role of a supervisor, leadership, resolving conflict, managing diversity, monitoring officer performance, professional image, legal issues for supervisors, ethics, interpersonal communication, effective written communication, decision-making, problem-solving, managing critical incidents, public speaking, emotional survival, media relations and others.

The graduating class is the 79th to complete APS since the program began in 2003. Cold Spring Police Chief Steven Collinsworth served as guest speaker.

APS is one of DOCJT’s illustrious leadership courses aimed at developing and shaping future and current leaders in law enforcement agencies across the commonwealth.

DOCJT is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

APS Class 79 graduates and their agencies are:

Dorain Buck Adkins Jr.
Kentucky Alcoholic Beverage Control

Alanna Bass
Bellevue Police Department

Nathan D. Becker
Boone County Sheriff’s Office

Christopher L. Brislin
Ashland Police Department

Chase Broach
Danville Police Department

Jeremy Centers
Scottsville Police Department

Kristopher Collins
Owensboro Police Department

Joe Criswell
Somerset Police Department

Emily Cruz
Hillview Police Department

Irvin Davis
Cold Spring Police Department

Richie K. French
Campbellsville Police Department

James C. Green
Owensboro Police Department

Derek M. Howard
Morehead Police Department

Paul Mellenkamp
Maysville Police Department

Stephen Meredith
Russellville Police Department

Corey Miller
Madisonville Police Department

Adam Rigsby
Erlanger Police Department

Erica L. Schrand
Ft. Mitchell Police Department

Alisa L. Scott
Fayette County Schools Police Department

Andrew P. Sisenstein
Carollton Police Department

Joshua Travis
Hopkins County Sheriff’s Office

Kristopher E. Weber
Boone County Sheriff’s Office

Wellness Programs Beneficial to Officers, Agency

Wellness Programs Beneficial to Officers, Agency

DOCJT Basic Training Class 501 Graduates

DOCJT Basic Training Class 501 Graduates