Twenty Officers Graduate from Sergeant’s Course

Twenty Officers Graduate from Sergeant’s Course

Law enforcement officers from agencies across the commonwealth were recognized Friday for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Academy of Police Supervision.

APS, also called the sergeant’s academy, is a three-week, 122-hour training program targeted for newly promoted sergeants or officers who are on their agency’s promotion list to become sergeants.

While in APS, students participate in classes focusing on the role of a supervisor, leadership, resolving conflict, managing diversity, monitoring officer performance, professional image, legal issues for supervisors, ethics, interpersonal communication, effective written communication, making decisions, solving problems, managing critical incidents, public speaking, emotional survival, media relations and others.

The graduating class is the 80th to complete APS since the program began in 2003. Oldham County Police Assistant Chief Neil Johnson served as guest speaker.

APS is one of DOCJT’s illustrious leadership courses aimed at developing and shaping future and current leaders in law enforcement agencies across the commonwealth.

DOCJT is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

APS Class 80 graduates and their agencies are:

Sgt. Jeffrey Brangers
Hardin County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Kenneth Corman
Henderson Police Department

Sgt. Bryan Curry
Boone County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Chad Eggleston
Russellville Police Department

Sgt. Chris Fike
Murray State University Police Department

Sgt. Thomas Grace
Oldham County Police Department

Sgt. Chad Greathouse
Blue Grass Airport Department of Public Safety

Sgt. Austin Guill
Murray State University Police Department

Sgt. Bryan Irby
Northern Kentucky University Police Department

Sgt. Ashley Jones
Glasgow Police Department

Sgt. Kyle McAllister
Hillview Police Department

Sgt. Brian Morgan
Campbellsville Police Department

Sgt. Brandon Record
Danville Police Department

Sgt. Richard Smith
Pulaski County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Kenneth Spera
Fayette County School Police Department

Sgt. Dean Sturgeon
Louisville Metro Police Department

Sgt. Robert Tackett
Scott County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Scott Tracy
Frankfort Police Department

Sgt. Mikka Weaks
Trigg County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Don Whitlock
Scott County Sheriff’s Office

DOCJT Basic Training Class 502 Graduates

DOCJT Basic Training Class 502 Graduates

Paving a Way

Paving a Way