DOCJT Basic Training Class 503 Graduates

DOCJT Basic Training Class 503 Graduates

Twenty-nine law enforcement officers from agencies across the state graduated Thursday from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

The graduates of Class 503 completed 20 weeks of training, which consisted of 800 hours of recruit-level instruction. Major training areas included law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid and CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and the mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.

Several recruits earned awards for their academy performance, including two recruits of distinction. To earn this recognition, a student must not fail any tested area, not receive any disciplinary action, earn an evaluation rating of acceptable in every observed category and score an average of 95 percent or higher on all academic tests. Recruits of distinction must participate in a community project and actively promote teamwork within the class environment.

Other awards are noted by the recruit’s names listed below.

Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others.

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013.

Class 503 graduates and their agencies are:

Donovan T. Barnes
Hardin County Sheriff’s Office

Logan Barrow
Paducah Police Department

Trevor S. Bloom
Winchester Police Department

Matthew A. Cantrell
Bellefonte Police Department

Cameron T. Claunch
Somerset Police Department

Jarrett L. Collins
Madisonville Police Department

Matthew Cope
Williamsburg Police Department
(Recruit of Distinction)

Robert D. Fitzpatrick
Oak Grove Police Department

Blake Gabbard
Winchester Police Department
(Outstanding Performance Award for Physical Fitness)

Martin N. Guandique
Elizabethtown Police Department
(Outstanding Performance Award for Physical Fitness)

Timothy D. Hogan
Kenton County Police Department
(Coordinator’s Award)

Joseph H. Holbrook
Jenkins Police Department

Jun A. Isabelo
Fayette County Sheriff’s Office

Lateef J. Johnson
Henderson County Sheriff’s Office

Patrick Y. Kincer
Fayette County Sheriff’s Office

Joseph B. Martin
Oak Grove Police Department

William C. McCoy
Russellville Police Department

Thomas A. Minter
Elizabethtown Police Department

Dorman R. Patrick, Jr.
Williamsburg Police Department

Thomas H. Reynolds
Calloway County Sheriff’s Office

Jerry B. Sawyer
Guthrie Police Department

Jeremy A. Teague
Paducah Police Department

Jerry Todd
Boyd County Sheriff’s Office

Allen M. Turner
Laurel County Sheriff’s Office

Robert L. Turner
Radcliff Police Department

Jady P. Wade
LaGrange Police Department
(Recruit of Distinction, Academic Achievement)

Shawn N. Wallace
Frankfort Police Department

James R. Weaver
Jackson County Sheriff’s Office
(Firearms Proficiency Award)

Brian A. Wilkins
Russellville Police Department

CDP Certificates - August 2019

CDP Certificates - August 2019

Preparation Makes Perfect

Preparation Makes Perfect