Twenty-four Officers Graduate from Sergeant’s Course

Twenty-four Officers Graduate from Sergeant’s Course

Law enforcement officers from agencies across the commonwealth were recognized today for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Academy of Police Supervision.

APS, also called the sergeant’s academy, is a three-week, 122-hour training program targeted for newly promoted sergeants or officers who are on their agency’s promotion list to become sergeants.

While in APS, students participate in classes focusing on the role of a supervisor, leadership, resolving conflict, managing diversity, monitoring officer performance, professional image, legal issues for supervisors, ethics, interpersonal communication, effective written communication, making decisions, solving problems, managing critical incidents, public speaking, emotional survival, media relations and others.

The graduating class is the 83rd to complete APS since the program began in 2003. Nelson County Sheriff Ramon Pineiroa served as guest speaker.

APS is one of DOCJT’s illustrious leadership courses aimed at developing and shaping future and current leaders in law enforcement agencies across the commonwealth.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013.

APS Class 83 graduates and their agencies are:

Sgt. Charles Ballard
Mt. Washington Police Department

Sgt. Eric Bull
Warren County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Scott Carnes
Versailles Police Department

Sgt. Trevor Clark
Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office

Supervisor Bill Collins
Kentucky Public Protection Cabinet Department of Insurance

Sgt. Kevin Cox
Nelson County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Richard Edwards
Graves County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Jake Forrester
Bowling Green Police Department

Sgt. Timothy Gividen
Carrollton Police Department

Sgt. Coy Harp
Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office

Col. Marty Hart
Pendleton County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Jordan Hillerich
Louisville Metro Police Department

Sgt. Jason Hurst
Boone County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Ryan Jackson
London Police Department

Sgt. Gerald Miller
Fayette County Schools Police Department

Sgt. Tommy Parker
Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Nathaniel Phillips
Bardstown Police Department

Sgt. Frank Scarcello
Oak Grove Police Department

Sgt. Thomas Schmidt
Frankfort Police Department

Sgt. Wes Singleton
Shively Police Department

Sgt. Clayton Stocker
Richmond Police Department

Sgt. Zachary Stokes
Richmond Police Department

Sgt. Ryan Willcutt
McCracken County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Todd Wingfeld
Louisville Metro Police Department

2018-19 Supreme Court Updates

2018-19 Supreme Court Updates

Kid Gloves

Kid Gloves